ZenYarnGarden.com

Yarn Sighting!

In Stash on October 11, 2005 at 4:33 pm

Gjestal Naturgarn No. 1Ahhhhh, what lovely yarn! I sure wish my ball winder would hurry up and get here so I could wind these into centre-pull skeins! I have so many hanks of yarn that are sitting in my stash because I can’t find the time or energy to manually wind them….the ball winder will be a God send when it arrives.  I have a sweater planned for this yarn from Paton’s Urban Neutrals. Instead of a solid-coloured sweater, I thought it’d be fun to mix it up and make it two colours — with sleeves. Not sure how I’m going to do the two colours but for now, what lovely yarn! Ogle away and as always, want to see it bigger? Click on the photo! How satisfying was that??!! I could stare at yarn photos all day!

 

  1. Roxanne!!! I ordered 35 skeins of that same yarn — 5 each of that lovely red, plus a wine, a pink, teal, purple, blue, you name it. I love it so much. I was a little surprised that it wasn’t quite as soft as I had expected, though. Maybe I am spoiled by Patons Up country? I cannot WAIT to see your pictures of the sweater-in-progress! I’m going to use my stash of that amazing wool for felting Christmas presents (kitty pi assembly line here LOL) I need a ball-winder, too. Do you already have a swift or will you be using a chair or helper-person as a swift? I’m thinking I need to just buy a ball winder online and be done with it. I am obsessed with those little yarn-cakes it makes. xo, L

  2. Hi Laurie…you’re so lucky! 35 skeins? Oh my, oh my, oh my!! It isn’t as soft but I have also read that it softens up with washings and while knitting so I’m hopeful it will be just fine when I get at my sweater project. I am going to use a chair as a swift for now until I can’t stand it anymore and then I’ll think about the real swift…LOL I am anxious to see those little cakes too!!

  3. ooh! Really love those sweaters. They’ll look great in that yarn.

Leave a Reply

