ZenYarnGarden.com

A New Toy!!

In Tools on October 22, 2005 at 11:08 am

Royal Ball Winder

 

Yippee and yahoo…my wool winder has arrived!! Now I can pull all those yarn hanks out of my stash and make some centre-pull balls out of them!! So cool…especially since it was just so daunting to wind them myself…took forever and I just couldn’t find the time to do it that way…

Anyone who’s used one, do you have any hints on how to make it work well? Thanks so much!

  1. Congratulations on your new winder, they’re great!  I use mine all the time. Didn’t you get any small instruction sheet with the winder? Otherwise, it’s not hard at all. If you have swift (which I recomend you get, if you don’t have one) place the yarn on the swift, and find one loose end. That end, you thread through the little hole on the springy thingy of the winder, and then place it in the small slit on top of the cone of the winder. Then you just wind away…. Have fun!

  2. How fun! You’ll love your new toy. I can’t believe what a time saver it has been for me. 🙂

  3. I have the same one! It is awesome! I would recommend using it on a table that doesnt have a curved edge though. My kitchen table is like that and it falls off sometimes especially when I am using the swift!

  4. I want one of those so bad! LoL

  5. Where did you get your winder from? I’ve been contemplating getting one (and/or a swift) for a while.

    Jen (from Calgary)

  6. The only advice i’d give is to save toilet paper centers and paper towels centers and when you wind finger or lace yarn, put that (cut it to be the height or smaller than the cake) over the center first and then wind it. Sometimes with the smaller gauge yarn, it’s hard to find the center, it’ll relax and not stay open. Have fun!!

Leave a Reply

