ZenYarnGarden.com

First Dyed Skein

In Dyeing on December 22, 2005 at 5:25 pm

I did it! I dyed my very first skein of sock yarn! Here she is drying in my bathroom shower. The whole process took about 2 hours but that’s because I tangled up my skein a bit while trying to set it up for self-striping. Have you seen the wonderful tuturial yet by Eunny? Go ahead and click here. She makes it seem so simple and it was the reason why I tried it at all…

I used Gaywool dyes in Bluegum and Orchid and love the effect it created! Once it’s dry, I’ll post a photo of the skein. The Gaywool dyes are very easy too…just put a capful in the water and you’re off and running…no mordants or anything else required. However, I think I used too much dye as the water was still coloured when I was done and not to mention the water I was rinsing the skein off in after it was done had quite a bit of colour in it…it took a few rinses to get it out. The colours never ran together so they have set but it took a few rinses to get the “extra” off. I really love how it transitions too…the stripes should be fun!

  1. Looks like you did a great job. I tried my hand at dyeing a few months ago and loved it. You’re inspiring me to try again!

  2. Nice colors! So far, I have only used food coloring, egg dye and Kool-Aid for dyeing. After the holidays, I hope to hit the dye pot with some tie-dye strips and cotton next.

Leave a Reply

