ZenYarnGarden.com

Worsted Weight Dyeing

In Dyeing on January 17, 2006 at 11:08 am

Here’s the results achieved with worsted weight yarn. I call this one TROPICAL SPLASH…it’s infused with light orange, pinks and a hint of burgundy! Click on the image to see larger!

Great part with this yarn is it almost exhausted all the dye in the dye bath! It must have something to do with the thickness of the yarn because my sock yarn really doesn’t exhaust the dye bath like this one did…I end up pouring quite a bit of colour down the drain! This one, not so much! I decided to try 2 skeins at once to get the same “dye lot”. They are pretty much the same too! One skein has a wee bit more burgundy in it than the other but other than that, very much the same!

For sale in my Etsy shop – click here.

If you’d like to view a slideshow of the colourways I’ve sold so far, click here…it’s kind of pretty to watch the yarn in slideshow format…consider it yarn therapy…I could stare at it all day… πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚

  1. Your colors are absolutely wonderful. You are doing a fantastic job. I love looking at all your wonderful colors. Hopefully sometime soon I will be able to get some. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Tropical Splash is beautiful!! I am going to dye some worsted weight merino today or tomorrow. Lovely colors you chose! Yummy!

  3. Okay I love this one as well. πŸ™‚ But I am holding back. I don’t know what I would make with it so we will wait and see if I buy it or not. πŸ™‚ I thought I told you to stop dying pretty yarn. LOL

  4. Thanks guys and LOL Tiffany!! Cute! πŸ˜‰

  5. You are doing a fantastic job with your yarn dyeing. I’ve done a couple of different projects at a yarn shop with their materials. After seeing what you are doing, I’m toying with the idea of dyeing my own yarn at home!

  6. That is great yarn therapy, love it! Again, i love that new color, it’s really pretty. Slurp, slurp….drool. And oh, i have an interview Friday! Hopefully i’ll be a customer soon!

  7. I got this yarn! I am so looking forward to seeing it in person, and I believe it will become a booga bag… maybe a boogette since I like purses small. YAY!!

Leave a Reply

