ZenYarnGarden.com

I Need Another Hobby…

In Spinning on January 25, 2006 at 8:49 am

…like I need a hole in the head…however, when you mention to your Dad that you really want to take up spinning too and he reminsces with you about how his Mom spun everything when he was young, how could you possibly not want to get involved with another hobby?

So we spoke about it a few times and he said “I can build one” and I thought, sure, okay, love that idea, however, it probably isn’t that easy…so the other day he sends me this picture on my email and says “do you like this one?” and of course, I thought, “oh my God, he’s serious!”. Turns out he put the word out with family and before you know it, everyone was hunting for a wheel and low and behold this one was found in a small city in British Columbia! It is packed and being shipped to him now!

Once he’s used it and spun with it and figured out the bobbins, etc. so he can make one himself, guess who’s getting it? Me, me, me!! Man, I’m excited! And how can you not take on another hobby when your Dad shops the planet, gets family involved and finds a wheel for you???

So my next question is…this one was made in Sweden…anyone recognize who the manufacturer may be? LOL

  1. I’m getting ready to take a spinning class (using a drop spindle) and know what you mean about picking up another hobby. But the thought of making beautiful yarn is so cool.

    My fiance is already planning the wheel he wants to make me… gotta love men in your life that want to make you a spinning wheel 🙂

    enjoy!

  2. This looks like an Ashford Traditional. The wheels are made in New Zealand, I believe, but the kit may have been assembled in Sweden, or pretty much anywhere else, for that matter. It should be a reliable, sturdy wheel. That’s what I first learned to spin on. Good luck & happy spinning! 🙂

  3. What a cool Dad! That is wonderful! Good luck on your new adventure! 🙂

  4. it looks alot like an ashford traditional. enjoy spinning: i love it. can’t let a day pass with out a turn on the wheel!

  5. Oh Wow! How beautiful! I wish I had an inclination to spin – I have the dog that heards sheep, just need the sheep and the desire!

  6. Sure looks like an Ashford Traditional to me too. They come from NZ. I have one – you’ll love it. So easy to learn on. But, as you know with anything in craft – one will never be enough!!!! I want my hubby to make me one!!! One day I guess.

    Congrats – JO

  7. I believe it is an Ashford Traditional, take a look at this http://www.ashford.co.nz/spinning/spinning-frameset.htm I can tell you that I have an Ashford Elizabeth and it’s a very cool wheel. How exciting for you!!!

  8. I bet you can’t wait! My Dad helped me find my one too, that’s just like yours. Aren’t dads fantastic??

  9. Congrats on your new wheel! I have an Ashford Traveller and I like it a lot. But Í think the traditional (like yours) are more beautiful… Maybe someday I’ll get one!
    Happy spinning

  10. well if you dont want it you can send it here I will make sure it gets tons of useage

Leave a Reply

