ZenYarnGarden.com

By Golly, A Sock!

In Dyeing, Socks on February 16, 2007 at 2:00 pm

Yippee and yahoo…it feels pretty darn good to finish a sock! Knitting has been close to non-existent for so long that I feel like this is a huge accomplishment. Silly me though – I cast on 72 stitches for size 2 US DPNs and well, duh, that’s too many. The result? A slightly large sock. I can still wear it but I wish it was a wee bit smaller. Ah well, as usual, knitting always teaches you something along the way!

Here’s the stats:

Pattern – Savannah by Wildhorse Farm Designs
Colourway – Hawaiian Blue
Yarn – Merino/Bamboo/Nylon Blend
Needles – US 2 Bamboo DPNs

As an aside, I’m pleased with how the yarn did very little or no pooling at all. Since I started dyeing yarns, this has been one goal I have been striving to achieve.

How do you feel about pooling? Is it something that bothers you or you just keep on knitting and it’s just fine? Would sure love to hear your take on it and if you’d like to see the sock bigger, please click on it.

  1. It kind of depends on the amount of pooling and the way it pools. So far it hasn’t bothered me but I have seen some people’s socks that it would bother me on. Like I said it just depends on the colors, the pattern, how much it’s pooling, how it’s pooling, ect. Sometimes though it can add to a sock I think. πŸ™‚ That’s part of the fun with hand dyed yarn. You never know what might happen. That’s why I am addicted. I don’t want to say who my enabler was for this addiction but I think you know. πŸ™‚

  2. Oh Tiffany…you always make me giggle! Who could that be?? Hmmmmmmmm…moi perhaps? LOL πŸ˜‰

  3. I am with Tiffany, pooling is one of the fun things about hand dyed yarn. Solid yarn can be boring, unless the pattern is interesting, like this one you have here.

    Enabling other ppl’s addictions are good too πŸ™‚

  4. i think the colors of the sock are nice even if it is slightly big. as for pooling, i don’t knit socks so i don’t usually have the problem but i did do some armwarmers with a stripy yarn & actually loved the way it pooled.

  5. what a lovely sock!

  6. I love those! you did a fabulous job.

    great Sock…now wheres the other hahahahahahaha

Leave a Reply

