ZenYarnGarden.com

She’s Here & A Naming Contest!

In Contests, Spinning on June 29, 2007 at 9:31 am

She’s here, she’s really really here! Can you believe it? She’s so gorgeous too I have her sitting in my living room by the fireplace just soaking up the sunshine rays by the window. Now that I have her…what shall I name her? I feel a contest coming on!!!

I’ll give you until Monday, July 2nd at 9 p.m. EST to leave a comment with a name for her. Whichever name strikes my fancy the most will be the winner! One guess each please. If you’re the winner, you’ll receive a custom dyed skein of sock yarn in whatever colours you prefer!

Click the photo to see her bigger too – it’s worth it even if you aren’t entering the contest! Now I just need to learn how to spin πŸ™‚

UPDATE: July 2, 2007 – CONTEST CLOSED NOW and a winner has been chosen! My spinning wheel will be BODHI because it feels the most zen to me and it means enlightenment. I hope to get many moments of enlightenment out of her while spinning yarn! Thanks Aija and believe me, it was tough – I also really liked Sunshine, Grace and Zena too. Thanks everyone for entering – I loved reading all the suggestions people had!

  1. she looks like an “Agatha” to me.

  2. She is beautiful – not witty or anything but the name “Grace” springs to mind.

  3. Rapunzel. As in “Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your yarn.” (Sorry, couldn’t help myself.)

  4. I think she looks like an “Lisette”.

  5. Her name is Lindsay and needs to be sent to her rightful owner.
    baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaawaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahahahahah
    seriously thu…I agree with the above poster.. hand down she is a GRACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. i want to say “Ash”.
    I know it’s cheesy–it’s an Ashford traditional right??

    If you want something funky–name her Eunice or Big Bertha or something.

    I haven’t named my wheel yet either.

    oooh–just thought of this:
    “Aggie”
    or
    “Addie”

    ok, i’m done now

  7. I don’t know why, but when I looked at the picture, the name Violet popped in my head. So I’m going with Violet

  8. IF she’s soaking in the sunshine, why not Sunshine?

  9. Esmerelda. Essy for short!
    (((Hugs)))

  10. I like the name Charlotte

  11. Hmmmmm, she looks like a “Ruby”, shiny in her own right but ready to be productive!

  12. I am soooooooo jealous!!! I am going to ask for a wheel for Christmas. My mom always spends a ton of money on me so I told her to wait this year and not buy a bunch of little thiings because I wanted some big knitting items such as a spinning wheel.

    I can’t see the picture of the wheel for some reason but I think you should name her either Tiffy, Tiffany, or Pinky in honor of your first customer. πŸ™‚ He he he.

  13. She beautiful, by the way, and I think her name should be Persephone.

    Have fun spinning away!

  14. skya. she has that scandinavian bare bones elegance about her

  15. So weird – my first thought was Esmerelda, but that was already suggested. How abuot Angelika?

  16. “Linda” is what popped into my mind.

  17. I would call her SPINNING JENNY

    Seems like that’s the name. Hope to learn to spin and then someday
    to get a wheel. I’m jealous.

  18. She looks like a Lucy to me.

  19. Well, let’s see…Zen Yarn Garden, so how about Zena? Or Zyggy? Aurora (for Sleeping Beauty)? Oh, and Erica’s a nice name… ;->

  20. How about Babette? I also like the name Mathilde. I dunno why I’m going with the French influece but it seems to work.

  21. For some reason, she looks like a Penelope to me.

  22. She is lovely! I’d love to have one.

    I vote Rhiannon. Mom wanted to name me Rhiannon. Apparently, that was too weird for the rest of the family.

    “Rhiannon rings like a bell through the night
    And wouldn’t you love to love her”

    I also like Clotho, youngest Fate and the one who spins the thread of life.

  23. She’s gorgeous! How about Sassy, no wait; Spinderella! Yeah, I like Spinderella! πŸ™‚

  24. For some reason, the name Rozalyn comes to mind.

    Easy on tongue, Rozzzzalynnnn…

  25. Spinderella. πŸ˜‰

  26. i like the name emma because it’s kinda old-fashioned and very simple and simple sounding – a beauty not needing any embellishments….

  27. She looks like a Angora for the yarn she is going to make.

    hugs kat

  28. The first name that came to me was Jenny and I have no idea why. However I think Saraspunda is better. (remember the song from elementary music class?)I always thought it was about spinning.

  29. I like Adelaide… it’s old fashioned and means noble and kind, which is the kind of yarn you want to spin right? Something that is above all others and kind to the wearer.

  30. All the names are great…keep ’em comin’! A couple strike my fancy already too but I’d love to hear more as well…thanks guys for all the great suggestions so far.

  31. Such a gorgeous clean lined and simple solid wheel. I think she should be called Lady. The other name that came to me is Ameilia. But i like Lady…she is just such a Lady.
    Sharon

  32. For some reason, Bella Donna came to mind —

  33. Hmm, this is a tough one. I’d go with Scarlett, nice and bold.

  34. Zenobia. She was a queen, and her name seems only fitting. ;o)

  35. bodhi, for the tree of enlightenment πŸ™‚

    she’s beautiful!! happy spinning!

  36. Oh – she’s beautiful! Must be so nice to have her there in your living room! How about Briar Rose (like in Sleeping Beauty)? Just a thought πŸ™‚

  37. Guenivier.

  38. Oddly enough, she looks like a Matilda to me.

  39. I think she needs a pretty but simple name – how about Emily?

  40. Victoria – since she came from BC.

  41. How about Betsy? It’s not too fancy but strikes me as productive.

  42. My Ashford Traditional is named Captain Jack, he has a little wobble LOL.
    congrats on your wheel.
    Deb

Leave a Reply

