ZenYarnGarden.com

Spiral Socks & Semi-Solids?

In Dyeing, Sock Yarn Club, Socks on August 12, 2007 at 3:54 pm

Oh my, my ART WALK Sock Yarn Club is keeping me hopping but I’m so loving it! I started a pair of spiral socks (heel-less) in the Toreador colourway for August and am enjoying the colourway so far. And yes, the socks have no heels – think tube socks! How cool is that? I can just keep knitting around and around and not worry about heels or gussets or picking up stitches…when I get to where I want the toe then I just do the toe as normal. Apparently the spiral pattern helps to keep the socks on too so I’m anxious to get one done to see just how they stay up and fit.

And I had a question about semi-solids – how many of you would be interested? I’m thinking another sock club with just a few spots and semi-solids as our focus. I am seeing a lot of sock patterns that semi-solids would be awesome for so what does everyone think? Maybe a semi-solid sock yarn and a pattern for the semi-solid club? Would love your feedback on such an idea either through comments or you can email me at zenyarngarden AT yahoo DOT com.

Hope everyone’s having a nice weekend! My DH is busy getting shelves for me for not only my work area in the garage but also my computer room and yarn room. Gotta love that! It’s funny how easily things can start taking over your house when you’re a busy handdyer – now I can get all the yarns and packing stuff out of the dining room so it can be a dining room again…LOL

  1. I’m jealous! You’re spiral socks look better than mine! šŸ˜¦
    It’s my own fault though, I keep on either adding or taking away stitches. They’re still spiralling, but not as neatly as they should be. If I ever finish the first sock, when I get to my second I should be doing better. šŸ™‚
    Happy knitting! šŸ™‚

  2. They are so neat looking!! Can’t wait to see them finished. I would love to see some semi-solids – my stash is sorely lacking in those!

  3. I think semi solid is a good idea as some sock patterns don’t look good with variegated yarn.

  4. A semi solid sounds great. Some patterns look better in a solid but I like the look of a semi-solid better.

  5. I LOOOOVE semi-solids actually. But right now, I can’t afford to buy into the club… So hopefully you’ll offer it again in the new year!

  6. Oh yes….I am hoping to keep going again in January of 2008 after the Christmas season is past.

Leave a Reply

