ZenYarnGarden.com

I’m Magic Looping!

In Reims Stockings, Sock Yarn Club, Socks on November 12, 2007 at 2:41 pm

I’m so excited…I’m actually magic looping this sock…woohoo!!  Why didn’t I learn this sooner?  Not only does it make the sock knit faster but I’m not afraid of dropping stitches like I am when using DPNs.  I haven’t quite figured out what to do when I get to the gussett and picking up stitches but that’s okay, one step at a time…LOL!  I had to bobble my way through the bobbles 4-5 times too…and once I finally got them then I had twisted my stitches and had to start again.  How hilarious is that?  I was determined to get this figued out though.  I am using a size 2 US circ even though the Reims Stockings pattern calls for a size 1.  It’s okay if I end up with a slightly too large sock – I’m having too much fun to stop now and the size 2 feels right to learn on.

That’s a 100% superwash merino I’m using in a colourway called Huron and exclusive to my Harmony Semi-Solid Sock Yarn Club.

I think I’ll make this sock ankle length too so just one or two more pattern repeats and I’m off to figuring out how to magic loop the heel and then the gussett…wish me luck 😉

  1. You”ll never turn back!!!! I haven’t. Isn’t it amazingly fast and fun? when you get to the gusset, you’ll see it’s pretty easy too.

  2. Ya, I figured I can’t go back now…in fact, I have one sock on DPNs that I think I’ll switch over too. Thanks on the gusset…looking forward to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

