ZenYarnGarden.com

Single Sock Bowl

In Miscellaneous on March 18, 2008 at 2:31 pm

I do a lot of single sock knitting!  Why?  Because I am my own test knitter – once one colourway is knit up, I’m anxious to see how the next will knit up so as soon as one sock is done, I’m onto another colourway.  So instead of letting one sock sit in my knitting bag, I decided to put them on display!  How cool is this?  Once this bowl is filled up, I will move onto another!  This one will sit in the middle of my dining room table (it has a lid too) and for anyone who decides to peak inside, they are in for a sock treat!  I love this idea…makes me feel better about all these single socks I have!

  1. I wonder if this is a lot like the “cobbler’s child has no shoes” or Nana Sadie Rose has no bags…???
    LOL!
    I love your bouquet!
    (((hugs)))

  2. I think you’re onto something Sallee!! Or doctors make the worst patients? LOL

  3. Very cute idea. 🙂

  4. That’s a really clever way to display your socks – they look fantastic. Although they are single socks, you can still wear them as my daughters are always wearing mismatched socks – it’s cool!

  5. Thanks Ann 🙂

    I love the idea of mismatched socks too! I may just do that! I like having some of them around as they are great samples when my local SnBers ask me “what does that yarn knit up like?”.

  6. I should hook you up with my friend who always wears unmatching socks, heh.

  7. I love this idea!

  8. It’s colourful and non-fattening, unlike some stuff that one might find on a table!

  9. LOL @ Talea – you know it!

  10. There is nothing wrong with mismatched socks, and single socks make a wonderful coffee table bouquet!

    I’ve always liked the idea of finding someone who knits at roughly your gauge, and splitting up the socks.

  11. Love that idea Amy 🙂

  12. Sock Centerpieces Who knew? What a great idea!

  13. lol, my daughter was just looking over my shoulder and laughed. She says none of my friends or i ever wear a “pair” of matching socks! So the bowl is “in”.

Leave a Reply

