ZenYarnGarden.com

I Made Yarn :)

In Spinning on August 29, 2008 at 7:12 pm

I can’t believe it!  I actually spun two bobbins of singles, plied them together and made what resembles yarn!  It’s pretty thick though and super bulky at 54 yards and 3.7 oz so I’m not sure it’s yarn – maybe it’s rope instead?  LOL!  

However, I am really pleased and the spinning bug has hit!  I took my first handspun to my local SnB on Thursday night and everyone told me how nice it was too so that made me feel good about it!  

Did I mention I handpainted the roving too?  It’s called Choco Cherry colourways and 100% superwash merino.  Yay me!

It’s a long weekend so guess what I’ll be doing?!  Yup, you guessed it!  Spinning!  

I am yanking my own handdyed roving off the shelf too…I’ll probably end up spinning it all up before anyone buys it!  Hopefully my next singles will be a little more thin and a little less uneven…wish me luck!

  1. Congratulations on your 1st handspun – love the colors.

  2. It’s really pretty! But I’m told, hon, that the “rope” effect is normal (you can’t prove a thing by this non-spinner!)
    I like it! You’ll get better and better with more and more practice!
    (((hugs)))

  3. Thanks guys! I did a bit better on my second handspun so it’ll come 🙂 Rope is okay. Thanks for that Sallee 🙂

  4. gorgeous!! I love it. But you knew that already. 🙂

  5. VERY beautiful! I can see it now…ZYG handspun for sale (my fingers are crossed!)

Leave a Reply

