ZenYarnGarden.com

A New Addiction is Born!

In Spinning on September 12, 2008 at 9:13 am

How come nobody told me how much fun spinning is?  Okay, I know some of you did but why didn’t I listen?  LOL!  I love it and am having such a ball with it.  It’s the perfect “I’m waiting for my yarn to cook” or “I’m waiting for my yarn to dry” or well, you get the idea – insert anything in there where you’re waiting and you can fill it with spinning!  Of course I am also using it as a distraction – “I should be labeling yarn, nahhhh, I think I’ll spin instead” or “I should be …. (you fill in the blank because anything works), nahhhhhh, I’ll spin instead”!  I love it and I made another yarn…yay!  

I am learning well on the pencil roving and I swear it’s like crack for spinners – talk about a quick fix!  I like it for now for the no mess, no fuss approach of it – I can sit down and spin without worrying about prepping the roving.  I tried to spin and draft merino but forget it!  I hear it’s because the staple of the fibre is shorter so it tends to slip.  Okay, my brain isn’t ready for that quite yet!  I think I’ll stick to pencil roving for a bit longer.

It’s been a long time since I learnt something new and I’m having a ball with it, okay, maybe more like a spin with it!  Happy spinning!

  1. Your handspun yarn is beautiful, and I am glad to learn that pencil roving works so well – I have some, and am of course hoping to add to it on Saturday at the Kw Knitters’ Fair – you have inspired me yet again!

  2. Ooh, pretty!! 🙂
    Spinning rocks–I don’t know what I ever did before I learned.

  3. Awww, thanks guys! 🙂

  4. lol…don’t start unravelling things around the house to come up with stuff to spin =)

  5. Pencil roving IS just like crack!! Ugly things happen when I stray from it. 😛 Congrats on the FP on Etsy last night, that’s how I found your awesome blog!

Leave a Reply

