ZenYarnGarden.com

Happy 2009!

In Spinning on January 4, 2009 at 9:56 am

Wow, it’s 2009 already and as always, I just never know where all the time has gone in the past year.  Why is it that when you get older, time flies by faster?  I don’t get that phenomenon!  When I was younger, I spent a lot of time wishing I could be 20 or wishing I could be 25 or wishing I was out of my teens or wishing high school was over or wishing university was finished.  Now that I’ve made those milestones and am not wishing time would go by faster, is there some way to actually slow time down so it doesn’t go by so quickly?  Who knew that not paying attention to time would make it go that much faster?  Wish I had known that when I was 16 or 20…LOL

2008 has been a wonderful year full of colour and yarn and for all my customers who continue to support me, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for allowing me this wonderful opportunity to bring colour and joy into your lives with each and every yarn or fibre that I dye.  2009 will be another year full of colour, fun and lots of fibre and I’m really looking forward to it.  January is starting off with a rather large project and once it’s over, I think it’s time for a contest again.  It’s been a long time since I had one of those and the new year is a great time to give away some yarn.  

I’m pleased to say that I started 2009 with finishing another handspun.  I really do love spinning and it’s been hard to find moments for doing it but the holidays was the perfect chance to grab a few moments on my wheel so I took advantage of it and learnt a couple of new spinning techniques.  This is my very first navajo 3-plied yarn!  It’s a bit thick and thin and uneven but I love it nonetheless!  I like how navajo plying makes a nice round 3 ply in the finished yarn.  It’s very cool.  Spinning from the fold was also fabulous to get a feel for and I plan on using it in my future spinning – I seemed to be spinning faster which is always good.

Hope your new year is turning out to be a good one!  There’s lots in store for Zen Yarn Garden this year so stay tuned for some of these things to come to fruition throughout the year.  Did you make any resolutions for the New Year or are you like me and don’t because they  just get broken in 5 minutes anyways?  LOL

  1. Wow, that yarn is super gorgeous! My first navajo-plied yarn was hard and rope-like, so yours is totally awesome 🙂

  2. Thank you 🙂 I’m having fun with it!

  3. The only way I know to slow down time? Knit.
    🙂
    Happy New Year – lovely handspun!
    (((hugs)))

  4. Hey, Sallee! Great idea…thank you! Spinning might slow it down too… 😉

  5. OH WOW…. I WANT THAT SKEIN it’s so beautiful….. oh wow…. oh wow…..

  6. Oh gosh, thanks Eca 🙂

Leave a Reply

