ZenYarnGarden.com

Archive for January 21st, 2006|Daily archive page

Superwash Coming Soon!

In Dyeing on January 21, 2006 at 11:46 am

My superwash sock yarns are drying now and I’m pleased to offer a promo on my first skeins…click here to see! The superwash yarn takes the colours wonderfully and the yarn is so lovely and squishy…they are more like a DK weight than a sock yarn weight which means socks will knit up faster and the socks will be a little “thicker”.

You can also throw them in the washing machine! What fun…however, to preserve the colours, I highly recommend you add a teeny bit of vinegar to the wash so the colours “fix” more. They will “bleed” a little bit on initial wash (especially the reds) but don’t worry, vinegar helps to retain the colour and I’ve used washfast and lightfast acid dyes which means they are only losing the excess colour. I have rinsed and rinsed my skeins to get most of it out too and also given them a little rinse in a soap that’s supposed to hold the dye better so the colours really should stay just as vibrant if handled properly.

There’s a little hint of the new colourways coming! More blues, more greens, a yellow and blacks too…stay tuned…they just need to finish drying!